Why I Would Not Be Friends With Harry, Ron, or Hermione | bethhenshaw

I love the Harry Potter series, probably more than I should.  However, if I were enrolled at Hogwarts, I would never hang out with Harry, Ron, or Hermione.

Harry has too much drama in his life, Ron is not very nice, and Hermione is too intense.  Harry is constantly fretting and always has some big, exterior force (Voldemort) distracting him from having any fun.

Ron is not the worse Weasley by far (Percy), but he is definitely not the best (Fred and George).  He always has a scowl on his face, and can never say anything nice.  While I admire his lack of a filter, he often comes across as rude.

Hermione is one of those girls in the classroom that everyone hates.  Her hand shots up in the air before the question is even completed, and she proceeds to give the exact definition found in the textbook.  She is a grade A curve destroyer.

And to be blunt, the three of them are a clique.  They occasionally talk to other students, but most of the time they can be found huddling together whispering.  If anyone were to walk by, their conversation would cease until that person becomes out of sight.  Don’t you just love a good hushed conversation when you enter a room?  Me neither.  If I were at Hogwarts, I would find myself much more fun friends.

First, I would befriend Seamus Finnigan.  He is a pyromaniac for crying out loud!  Everyone needs a friend constantly blowing stuff up in their own face.  That’s just good company.

Second, a more obvious choice: Fred and George.  There is never a dull moment with this dynamic duo. No one wants to be the butt of their pranks, everyone wants to be laughing with them.  I want even more.  I would like to be the master mind behind some of their infamous pranks.  I love anyone who has the nerve to pull pranks, as it is wonderfully entertaining.  I need friends who will constantly keep me on my toes, and there is not a doubt in my mind that Fred and George would ever run out of fresh shenanigans.

Next is Luna.  She is one of my favorite characters in the entire series, because she is so fantastically real.  Luna would never lie, and she calls everything like she sees it.  Even if some of it sounds a bit loopy, she knows what’s up.  Conversations with Luna would be both entertaining and silly as we discuss the realm of reality and all that exists beyond it.

Next, would be Hannah Abbott simply because she seems nice.  There is not much said about her in the series, but Hufflepuff students are always patient and loyal: two great characteristics to have in a friend!

I would however, share several mutual friends with the three friends: Hagrid, Dobby, and Neville.  Hagrid is a big, loveable oaf.  He is very compassionate and could me give great piggy back rides.

Dobby has a steadfast and cute personality.  He is always willing to help and is usually very happy.  My favorite image of Dobby is of him in the Order of the Phoenix wearing a dozen of Hermione’s hand knitted hats.  (Sorry moviegoers, but you won’t understand that reference).

Neville is a great friend who always strives to do the right thing and eventually turns into an absolute badass.  He is brave when it matters and protects who he cares about.

Don’t get me wrong, I love everything about the series and I think J.K. Rowling crafted wonderfully intricate characters.  I love Ron, Harry, and Hermione as characters, I really do.  They are brave, clever, trustworthy, and passionate friends.  They make a great group!  I, however, would choose a different posse, but still fight alongside them against Voldemort and more importantly: Bellatrix.  Oh, to be a wizard at Hogwarts!  My letter is probably still just lost in the mail…

via Why I Would Not Be Friends With Harry, Ron, or Hermione | bethhenshaw.

Well the writer is right on the money. I have written fan fiction where I am friends with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Big mistake there. First off, Harry is an orphan and my character’s tendency to be sympathetic towards less fortunate people always gets her into big trouble. Plus, Ron really needs to get away from his large, unbearable family. Also, Hermione is nothing more than a Mary-Sue know-it-all who probably needs to be smacked with a fist.

Plus, those guys are a clique. I’m not too fond of cliques, since people in cliques tend to isolate themselves from the rest of the school. There’s nothing that is more annoying than a group of people talking and then they shut up as soon as another student or a teacher walks right by them. Isn’t that just annoying? Makes you want to report them to the police or something like that.

If I went to Hogwarts, I would avoid Harry, Ron, and Hermione like the plague. No need for me to get involved with them and their schemes. In fact, I’d find ways to break the group apart, possibly for good.

Now you know.

One thought on “Why I Would Not Be Friends With Harry, Ron, or Hermione | bethhenshaw

  1. Hello! I know this is a bit of a late response, but I gave up blogging and recently have started to give it another chance! I am honored by your response to my blog! Thank you so much, I look forward to reading your future posts!

Leave a Reply

