Harry Potter: Destiny Unfulfilled Review

anti-Harry Potter stamp

anti-Harry Potter stamp (Photo credit: claireviolet82)

OK, so I have taken to reading this analysis and I must admit that the person had the right idea when they wrote it, as Harry Potter did NOT live up to his potential, both as a hero and as a book series.

The essay analyzes all the Harry Potter books and talks about what’s wrong with them, and what should be changed to make the books better. Believe you me, a rewrite of the Harry Potter books is badly needed.

Before I reveal too much, here’s what I have to say about the book:

And so, we have reached the end of this essay. Hopefully, I’ll be using it when I’m writing my alternative Harry Potter fan fiction, aptly called “Harry Potter Redux”.

I’m actually glad that I took the time to actually read the essay, since my decision to stop being a Harry Potter fan was rather abrupt and too soon for my liking. I had to really sit down and wonder how and why I ever began reading the Harry Potter books in the first place. It wasn’t that the series was cliched and repetitive, but it felt poorly written and too rushed for my liking. As a person who reads mainly fantasy, the Harry Potter books was a step backward for me in those terms.

I really hope that the series can be rewritten and made better. I want to see Harry as a real hero (not just the title), Dumbledore as a mentor, and a real villain because Voldemort just doesn’t cover it. *SIGH*

Well, the books could have been worse.

And here’s my (official) review:

What a great and wonderful essay about the Harry Potter books. I’m glad that I have read it and learned about where Harry Potter succeeded and failed. I hope to take what I have learned from the book and apply it to my alternative Harry Potter fan fiction, aptly called “Harry Potter Redux”. I really hope that one day, the series can be rewritten and made better. I want to see Harry as a real hero (not just the title), Dumbledore as a mentor, and a real villain because Voldemort just doesn’t cover it.

So there you have it. I think everyone who is a Harry Potter fan or loves fantasy or is studying English in college reads this book so that they can learn about how the Harry Potter phenomenon crashed and burned to the ground.

Leave a Reply

